Piazza Navona

Piazza Navona is one of the most famous Rome’s squares and a bright example of the Baroque period. It’s an oval shaped square decorated with the trio of fountains. The central and largest fountain is the Fountain of the Four Rivers (Fontana dei Quattro Fiumi) by Bernini. Four rivers symbolize four continents. The fountain features four figures, each representing a river from a different continent – the Nile, Danube, Rio della Plata and Ganges symbolize Africa, Europe, America and Asia. The square is also noted for Moor fountain (the Fontana del Moro) designed by Bernini in 1653 and placed at the southern end of the square.

Fountain of the Four Rivers (Fontana dei Quattro Fiumi) by Bernini

Fountain of the Four Rivers (Fontana dei Quattro Fiumi) by Bernini

The third fountain called Neptune fountain (Fontana di Nettuno) was created at the end of the 16th century but the statue of Neptune was added in 1878. Another highlight at Navona square is a big church of Sant’Agnese in Agone.

Neptune fountain (Fontana di Nettuno)

Neptune fountain (Fontana di Nettuno)

But this is what you see just on the outside. At night numerous local artists and actors gather in the square to paint or play street performances including car spray painting or break dance.

The whole square is packed with different cafes and restaurants to suit every taste. The place has a really fantastic atmosphere and our last night in Rome was wonderful and unforgettable.

Our day ended with wonderful supper in the other very nice restaurant and with taking night photos of the Colosseum. Please view the night photos of Rome and then we’ll continue our trip the next day.

Share this article on social media!


Planning a trip?

Get your personal itinerary!